The shortlist for the 2023 Lord Aberdare Prize is as follows:


  • Paul Darby, James Esson and Christian Ungruheal. African football migration: Aspirations, experiences and trajectories. Manchester University Press.
  • Ali Donnelly. Scrum Queens: The Story of Women's Rugby. Pitch Publishing.
  • Tom Humberstone. Suzanne: The Jazz Age Goddess of Tennis. Avery Hill.
  • Alex Jackson. Football's Great War: Associated Football on the English Home Front, 1914 - 1918. Pen & Sword Books.
  • Hugh McLeod. Religion and the Rise of Sport in England. Oxford University Press.
  • Souvik Naha. Cricket, Public Culture and the Making of Postcolonial Calcutta. Cambridge University Press.
  • Duncan Stone. Different Class: The Untold Story of English Cricket. Repeater Books.

Congratulations to all those shortlisted! The winner will be announced at the BSSH Conference (August 24 & 25th 2023).

The document below provides an in-depth explanation of how those shortlisted were chosen.