Richard Cox Postgraduate Prize

Part of the BSSH’s mission is to be accessible to and encourage new researchers, including postgraduate students and academics at an early stage in their careers. The Richard Cox Postgraduate Prize is awarded to reflect outstanding work from new researchers in sports history.

The winner is selected by a panel of judges based on a written paper and on the delivery of that paper at the annual conference, and awarded £100. The researcher will also be invited to submit their paper to the BSSH's journal, Sport in History.

Specifics for the 2021 prize will be announced soon!

Usual application procedure

At the time of the initial submission of their abstract for their paper the author should indicate that they wish to be considered for the Richard Cox Prize. They should explain the basis upon which they are eligible i.e. at the time of submitting their paper authors should be engaged in full or part-time postgraduate research or be within 1 year of completing their research degree.

Co-authored papers will not normally be considered.


While we encourage the submission of different kinds of papers, to be eligible for the prize, papers must be a maximum of 6,000 words. Style should be consistent throughout, i.e. footnotes where appropriate, and a separate list of references. Papers should be no smaller than size 12 Times New Roman and 1.5 or double spacing.

Name and contact details of author, paper title, short abstract with keywords must also be included on a separate page (please follow Sport in History conventions).

Assessment process

The written paper must be submitted to the conference organisers a month prior to the first day of the annual conference. A panel of judges will be selected by the BSSH Committee which will assess both the content of the papers under consideration and the presentation.

Award of the prize

The winner will be announced at the conference and on the BSSH website; if the winner is not attending the conference, they will be notified within one month.

Previous winners of the Richard Cox Postgraduate Prize
Read more